Coffee rating according to the SCAA scale

Coffee rating according to the SCAA scale

Exclusive specialty coffee segment

SCAA, i.e. Specialty Coffee Association of America, is an organization founded in 1982 by coffee industry enthusiasts. It defines strict trade standards for specialty coffee, as well as its quality and type. The scale is an inspiration primarily for coffee producers who, thanks to education and specialized cultivation methods, can raise its quality standards. Thanks to this, specialty coffees are characterized by excellent quality and amazing taste. When determining the scale of specialty coffees, the quality of the water used for its cultivation, the land, as well as the location and climatic conditions are taken into account. Therefore, coffee is unique even when it is grown on plantations. Growers often improve their skills in raising the standards and quality of the coffee they grow. Moreover, growers never focus on the quantity of harvests, but on their quality. Moreover, coffees that have defects or are not grown in the right conditions are not classified on the SCAA scale.

Determining the quality of specialty coffees

The coffees available in the MOTT COFFEE range are characterized by high quality and excellent taste. These are unique specialty coffees that have undergone a number of control processes confirming their highest quality standards. When determining the quality of a specialist's coffee, the number of individual defects is taken into account. Additionally, each coffee sample must contain at least 350 g of beans. Defects are divided into two categories: primary and secondary. Moreover, samples cannot have defects in the first category or more than 5 defects in the second category. The SCAA scale defines two classes of coffee: specialty grade and premium grade. Additionally, the ripeness and grain maturity according to the SCAA scale is also taken into account.

Sensory examination of specialty coffee

Coffee from the first category is examined sensorially. This is because it is then possible to determine real sensory differences in individual species and types of coffee. Moreover, as a result of sensory testing, it is possible to precisely determine the mark of the samples and the product preferences. For coffee to be classified as a specialty, it must score at least 6 points. 6 means good coffee, 7 means very good, 8 means Excellent, and 10 means outstanding coffee. The next stage of coffee evaluation is to determine its smell, taste and sweetness. The smell of coffee is assessed immediately after grinding, but also after brewing. Taste, acidity, aftertaste, body and balance are assessed when the coffee reaches 71 degrees Celsius. However, sweetness, purity and uniformity are determined when the coffee is already at room temperature. The evaluation process ends at approximately 21 degrees Celsius. The specialist coffee market is becoming more and more popular among customers. For more, the quantity of each type increases. They are distinguished by unique signs and origin from different parts of the world. They are characterized by a unique taste and an outstanding aroma, which is not present in coffees purchased, for example, from the supermarket.


Comments (0)

There are no comments for this article. Be the first one to leave a message!

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published